State of North Omaha and African Americans

Every year since 2006, the Empowerment Network has presented the State of North Omaha and State of African-Americans Summit.  The annual event typically attracts 200-300+ residents and leaders to receive updates on trends and outcomes, celebrate progress made during the prior year, identify remaining gaps and discuss future plans.  The qualitative and quantitative report features highlights, community priorities, collective strategies, data, trends and promising initiatives.

The report is used to assist partners and participants with making informed decisions based on real data and trends.  The summit now includes reports from the Mayor, City Council, Douglas County Commissioners, State Senators and other leaders of strategic initiatives.

The 16th Annual State of North Omaha and State of African-Americans was held on Saturday, January 28, 2023 at the Omaha Public Schools TAC Building. Over 300 were in attendance in-person or virtually.

PART II: Scheduled for Saturday, February 11, 2023 from 8:15 am to Noon at Metropolitan Community College – Fort Omaha Campus: Swanson Conference Center. Building 22.

Please review the 2022 State of North Omaha & State of African-Americans Report and the Transformation 2025 Proposal Summary by clicking on the image below:

Please see the North Omaha Recovery Plan introduced by Senators Justin Wayne and Terrell McKinney by clicking on the link below: North Omaha 2022 (which incorporates much of the Transformation Plan and other plans and recommendations submitted by the community)

Over 300 attended the virtual 15th Annual State of North Omaha and African-Americans on Saturday, January 29, 2022. View the full video below:

Schedule on Video:
Intro and Data and Trends: 0
Willie Barney
David Drozd

Health, Healthy Food and Faith Community: :20
Kenny McMorris
Nancy Williams
Pastor Portia Cavitt

Housing and Financial Empowerment: :43
Teresa Hunter and Nicka Johnson

Violence Prevention :57
Chief Todd Schmaderer

Education and Employment: 1:05
Superintendent Cheryl Logan
Randy Schmailzl
Tim Clark
Wayne Brown

Entrepreneurship 1:40
Candice Price

Elected Officials: 1:46
Mayor Jean Stothert
Senator Terrell McKinney
Senator Justin Wayne
Commissioner Chris Rodgers
Councilwoman Juanita Johnson
Councilman Pete Festersen

Moving Forward: 2:40
Carmen Tapio
Leo Louis and JoAnna LeFlore-Ejike
Manne Cook

Closing Comments: 3:10
Willie Barney

Announcement about Magic Johnson

Jonathan Chapman